Board of Directors

The Foundation is currently managed by a 23 member board of directors. At least two board members serve from each of the seven counties; members are chosen for their leadership and philanthropy in the Coastal Bend. Current members include:

Aransas County
Jan G. Anderson
Paula Dean

Bee County
Lou Adele May
William B. Whitworth

Jim Wells County
Ralph Gomez
Clare Atkinson Wonders

Kleberg County
Ricki W. Cunningham
Joe M. Henkel
Jonathan M. Hornblower

Nueces County
Mike Carrell (Chair)
Judge Bobby Galvan
Susan E. Hutchinson
Rumaldo Z. Juarez, PhD
Omar J. Leal (Treasurer)
Robert W. Maxwell (Vice-Chair)
Henry Nuss
Leah Pagan Olivarri
Karen O’Connor Urban
Jennifer B. Vogt

Refugio County
Louise N. Aduddell
Nancy D. Linney

San Patricio County
Irene Irey
Jon R. Whatley (Secretary)


Karen W. Selim, JD
President & CEO

Tracy M. Ramirez
Director of Communications

Nicole Ross
Program Director